-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

rumble fish

goddamn. rumble fish is the best fucking book. s.e.hinton rules. i know everyone knows it but i had forgotten and know i remember why again. the movie is good too but the book makes way more sense to me. motorcycle boy seems like he might be insane in the movie but really, he's just a big shot in a small town who is a nobody outside of it. he's very smart and very cool but outside, no one really gives a shit so he comes back. the characters, even rusty-james, have so much more depth than in the movie. s.e. hinton is a master at creating big things with very little language. fucking a.

i got kicked out of my apartment this morning. should i tell the landlord that its an illegal sublet? should i throw a huge fucking party and destroy the place? should i move away somewhere for a little while? i have no job, no place to live. what the hell is stopping me?

also, back to rumble fish, the theme song makes so much more sense to me now:

you walk, and i'll run

and follow right behind you

you call, and i'll come

and i wont remember where i come from

over there, at the end of the bar

this fish keeps swimming in a jar

i feel a tug on the line

which end will i be on this time?

one day i'll show them just what i'm made of

there'll be a time when i wont remember what i was afraid of

and i'll be swimming in the sea

no banging on this glass for me

my eyes saw red when my life turned blue

and so i'm leaving everything that's true

and i'll jump into a brand new skin

then you wont be able to box me in

there's a few places round

that i've never been

there's a notion out there

that i gotta swim

there's a river that flows outside my door

i'll wonder, i'll wonder...what?

and if sometimes i cant seem to talk you'll know that this blackboard lacks

a piece of chalk.

dont box me in

let go.

6:09 p.m. - 2003-07-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

history - mystery

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry