-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When The First Eagle Flies

For a minute I thought it would be fun to make a zine dedicated to all the creepy movies I used to watch when I was a kid. I would call it "When the First Eagle Flies..."

Or maybe I would call it something else, but the delicious first words of "The Last Unicorn", by America, are too chilling to pass up.

for a while i couldn't find any info on "Herself the Elf" and it made me become really obsessed with it. Now you can buy "The Magic of Herself the Elf" on amazon.com for like, $65.00. As if! It's not even that I was so into Herself. I only barely remember it. What I do remember are the end credits to the cartoon movie, and the sad song that played before my dad taped over it with "Temple of Doom". For some reason, I feel as if I can just hear that sad song once more, I will be flooded with memories. Like I might be able to remember the day I was born or something. And then, all of my mysteries and secrets will unfold.

No one gives a shit about Savanna Smiles or Kidco, but they are like sweet dreams to me. (**note** in Savannah Smiles, Alfie hides a puppy in his leather jacket and proceeds to buy 2 ice cream cones, one for him and one for Savannah. As Savannah accepts the melting strawberry cone (note also that they were in or around Niagra Falls) she notices something wiggling around in Alfie's jacket. Alfie, being the ol' goof that he his, pretends to not notice. Soon enough though, temptation gives and he unzips his jacket and a baby chocolate lab starts licking his cone and his face. So you heard it here first: anyone who does this to me, boy or girl, I'm claiming Soul Mate.)

Water Babies is damp and gloomy. A british cartoon/live action (always the most terrifying) with really weird songs. It's scary because it's a) British and b) live action and c)has to do with a brother and sister who drown or "fall" into a pond, only to find an underwater world of badly drawn "sea" creatures. If this is what happens when you die, you can count me out!

Another Live Action/Animation gem that should be recognized is "Dot and the Kangaroo." This was more my sister's jam but the video was in our catalog for so many years that I gotta give a shout out.

Wouldn't this be better with pictures??? Maybe one day I'll learn how to do that.

8:06 p.m. - 2005-06-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

history - mystery

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry